Teams announced for inter-league challenge match

HAWKESBURY Upton will on Saturday play host to the second instalment of the Gloucestershire Cricket Foundation Cup – a challenge between sides representing the Gloucestershire County and Bristol & District leagues.

The two competitions met for the first time back in 2019, the B& D triumphing by two wickets at Chipping Sodbury.

Covid and the disruption that followed in its wake temporarily put paid to hopes of the match becoming an annual event, but the two leagues are determined to re-establish the clash on the cricketing calendar.

And both have announced strong line-ups for the return at Hawkesbury.

Tom Stevens, the chairman of the AMS Gloucestershire County League, said: “We’re really looking forward to the match, Hawkesbury is a fabulous setting and even the forecast is good so we’re set fair!”

John Peplow, his counterpart at the Martin Berrill Sports Bristol & District League, will be presenting special commemorative caps to their 11 players taking to the field.

He said: “We felt players should receive something in recognition of their selection, and I’m sure it will be appreciated by the team.”

Josh Loade, of Aston Ingham, will captain and keep wicket for the County League who have selected a team from 11 different clubs spanning divisions one through to three.

The B&D side, meanwhile, will be led by Bradley Stoke’s Ash Baber and calls on players from six Senior Division clubs.

AMS Gloucestershire County League: Josh Loade (captain, Aston Ingham), Rob Birch (Apperley), Chris Nicholas (Cricklade), Aaron Court (Langford), Alex Gooding (Lydney), Devin Rogers (Westbury-on-Severn), Tom Horrell (Tetbury), George Garratt (Great Rissington), James Newman (Poulton), George Dolling (Cam), Sam Beeley (Hawkesbury Upton).

Martin Berrill Sports Bristol & District League: Ash Baber (captain), Ben Rivers, Dan Laver, Alfie Bradley  (all Bradley Stoke), James Copeland, Lloyd Richardson (both Claverham), Abdullah Tabraiz (Pak Bristolians), John Donaldson, Aaron Jones (both Coalpit Heath), Mark Sage (Timsbury), George Willis (OB Westbury).

Umpires: Howard Hudd and Eric Woodmason

Scorers: Andy Burrows and Miranda Clack

Main image courtesy Mike Starling

Sign up to the Gloucestershire Cricket Foundation newsletter