Painswick comfortably through in Voneus Village Cup

PAINSWICK eased past Winterbourne by 74 runs to reach the Gloucestershire group semi-finals in the Voneous Village Cup, Keegan Jansen Van Rensburg once again taking centre stage.

The prolific South African walloped an unbeaten 164 from 116 (14 fours, nine sixes) while there was also an unbeaten 90 off 67 from Jon Conolly as their side raced to 333-4 off their 40 after winning the toss.

Winterbourne made a brave attempt to reach an imposing target, skipper Ben Parker leading from the front with 104 from 88 (17 fours) but Painswick were always in control, Dan Wilson finishing with 3-49.

Painswick’s reward is a trip on May 26 to Apperley, who received a walkover against Rockhampton.

The second semi will see Marshfield host Frocester after both also received walkovers, against Kingsholm and Almondsbury, respectively.

Dumbleton, the 2022 champions, had free passage to the Worcestershire group last four following the withdrawal of Feckenham, and now face a trip to Bretforton.

In Herefordshire & Powys, Aston Ingham completed an eight-wicket win away to Burghill, Tillington and Weobley, James Wagstaff capturing 5-14 from seven to book a home last four clash against Colwall.

Stapleton are out of the competition after succumbing by 120 runs at home to Wembdon in the Somerset & Avon group.

GOLDEN Hill and Bristol will face off for a place in the regional final of the ECB National Club Championship on May 26 after completing excellent away victories.

Opener Nic Halstead Cleak powered his way to 123 from 92 (10 fours, four sixes) in Bristol’s total of 292-9 from 40 at Devon side Sandford after winning the toss.

And Finn Starkey followed up with a burst of 3-41 from eight to complete a 159-run win.

Golden Hill were six-wicket victors in a rain-affected clash in Cardiff where Haseeb Noori and Lesago Senokwane both bagged three wickets.

The Welsh side finished on 192-7 before a weather break saw Golden Hill set an adjusted target of 175 from 34, captain Daz Ahmed blasting an unbeaten 55 from 46 (six fours, two sixes).

THERE’S a new look to WEPL’s T20 competition which is due to get underway on Sunday with ten preliminary round qualifiers scheduled across the region.

A total of 35 clubs will this year be chasing victory and qualification to represent the league in the first national round of the ECB National Club T20.

Rules have been redrawn to give the top six finishers in last season’s Premier One – Bath, Potterne, Bristol, Bridgwater, Frocester and Bedminster – free passage to the second stage of the competition where they will be joined by the 10 preliminary round winners.

Those 16 teams will then be in a straight knock-out scenario by being drawn into four groups of fours, producing four winners for a WEPL finals day.

Any preliminary round qualifiers forced to be postponed because of the weather will be rescheduled for May 26.

Sunday’s qualifiers (host club named first, opening game at 10am) –  Group One: Downend, Bishopston, Golden Hill. Group Two: Bradley Stoke, Bristol West Indian Phoenix, OB Westbury. Group Three: Lansdown, Stapleton, Twyford House. Group Four: Chipping Sodbury, Gloucester, Langford. Group Five: Stroud, Tewkesbury. Group Six: Hatherley & Reddings, Cheltenham, Painswick. Group Seven: Clevedon, Wellington, Weston-super-Mare. Group Eight: Wembdon, North Petherton, Yeovil. Group Nine: Corsham, Burbage & Easton Royal, Chippenham. Group Ten: Trowbridge, Swindon, Winsley.

Main image courtesy Aaron Parsons Photography

Sign up to the Gloucestershire Cricket Foundation newsletter